Sew, Jenn-O….

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

I found out today that I need more practice quilting. August 19, 2012

Filed under: Sewing — Jenn-O @ 1:32 am
Tags: , , ,

……Or, I really need a walking foot. There was one with my Viking but I can’t find it. So, I’ll be checking out ebay to find one. I thought quilting the blanket was going to be the easy part. Boy, was I wrong! It’s hard to keep the fabric underneath straight and keep it from puckering. It’ll just take some practice, I’m sure. I’m not giving up, yet! Even though this baby quilt isn’t perfect I still love it. It’s my first piece and it’s for someone very special!

After I get this quilting thing down I’ll look back and know exactly what I did wrong. There are a bunch of pictures and most of them I’m going to save for a “What Not to Do” post. This square is called the Arkansas Cross Roads and I believe this is the alternate setting. At the bottom of that link there is another link for coloring pages so you can get an idea of how you want your color pattern to go. I’m not sure if that’s something that is normally given out with patterns but I thought it was pretty cool. I chose to do a sort-of random pattern of colored squares and left the background white. The pink and brown fabric is called Melodies by Exclusively Quilters. Here’s a look at the finished product. Once again, sorry for the crappy pictures.

Finished quilt after being washed.

Washing it really helped hide a lot of the flaws. Most people probably wouldn’t notice but if you’re a sewer, you definitely will! lol

Baby blanket

Laid out after washing and drying.

When I originally got the brown and pink fabric it came in a 8 fat quarters. Since, I didn’t get large piece for the back I just ran up to my local fabric store and found this one.

Have you made a quilt before? How did your first one turn out? Feel free to share some tips!!

 

8 Responses to “I found out today that I need more practice quilting.”

  1. Jennie Says:

    I don’t even have pictures of the first one I made…it was HORRIBLE! I didn’t follow a pattern or anything, just kind of made it up as I went. Yours looks amazing! and you will definitely see improvement with each one you do…I just got a walking foot, so I’m excited to see the difference it makes on my next quilt!

    • Jenn-O Says:

      I figured I wasn’t alone! lol If I don’t have a walking foot by the next time I make one then I’ll have to remember to go really slow.

  2. I stitched in the ditch for my first (cot) quilt using a very old Husqvarna Viking sewing machine. Don’t think I even had a walking foot at that stage. I had to unpick when it went really wrong and the result was far from perfect but the new parents were absolutely thrilled with the quilt and said they’d been wanting something just like it. So it ended well. Since then I have bought a new Singer sewing machine and a walking foot to go with it. That combination has given given me much better results.

    • Jenn-O Says:

      I am using an old Viking, too! It’s a 990. I did pick some of the seems that were really bad, but I left the others. It does’t look too bad after washing and drying,

      • Jenn-O Says:

        Oh, and I was trying to stitch in the ditch but it wasn’t working out, lol. I thought that just stitching next to it was looking better at this point! HA!

  3. […] but, I got frustrated when I attached the batting wrong and set it aside while I started this baby quilt. After washing it it’s hard to see all the little […]

  4. craftingismybliss Says:

    There are no mistakes on quilts only design elements. Your quilt looks wonderful. Have fun quilting. I do whatever I like, however I like, and everything works out fine.


Leave a Reply

