Sew, Jenn-O….

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

Quilts for Kids August 20, 2012

Filed under: Sewing — Jenn-O @ 10:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Have you heard about the organization Quilts for Kids? It’s an organization that provides quilts for children with life-threatening illnesses and children of abuse. There are different ways you can help and volunteer.

  • You can request a free kit, which will be sent to you, you put the quilt together and send it back.
  • You can contact your local chapter to see how you can help or request a quilt kit from them so you know your quilt is going to children locally.
  • Donate “new” unused fabric to headquarters or to your local QFK chapter.
  • If you don’t sew but would still like to help, you can make a financial donation which goes towards shipping quilts to children across the country.
  • Spread the word about QFK! They are always in need of fabric, funding and quilters!

This is what the kit looked like when I received it.

The kit.

I finished up my second quilt yesterday. Well, actually it was the first quilt top I’ve sewn, but, I got frustrated when I attached the batting wrong and set it aside while I started this baby quilt.

Finished, washed and dried.

After washing it it’s hard to see all the little mistakes!

The quilting on this one turned out better than the baby quilt. It’s not perfect but definitely better. The back piece didn’t pull as much when I was quilting around the borders. There were still some tucks in the quilt top but after washing it I was having a hard time finding them.

Hope to make some little boy very happy!

You even get to sign the tag! Should have used a fabric marker instead of permanent marker. Then maybe it wouldn’t have bled.

I finished this just in time to mail it before we leave for our Florida vacation. I already have more quilt ideas in mind for when I get back. My husband has been wanting me to make a quilt out of his Crown Royal bags. He has a ton! But, they are with our household goods so that will have to wait. Before I moved to Italy I left a quilt with my aunt to see if she could fix it. It’s old and very comfy but it was coming apart. So, that might still be on the list of things to do. Hopefully she knows where it is!

 

6 Responses to “Quilts for Kids”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Lovely!

  2. Such a cute blanket! I love this organization, I just finished my 2nd quilt for them just need to ship back to them. Its so nice being able to give to people who need that extra security when in the hospital!

  3. adaisygarden Says:

    I just heard about this organization on Sunday, and now here it is again! I was very interested and will be definitely contacting them about making a quilt. Thanks for sharing and have fun in Florida!

    • Jenn-O Says:

      Thank you for stopping by! It was a lot of fun to make especially since it was my first quilt. I’m glad that I put it aside and started and finished another quilt before I finished this one. I learned a few things that I needed to do and it helped this one come out a little better. There’s still lots for me to learn!!


Leave a Reply

