Sew, Jenn-O….

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

Tasty Tuesday- Blueberry Spinach Smoothie August 28, 2012

Filed under: Recipes — Jenn-O @ 9:42 pm
Tags: , , , ,

A few weeks ago my family moved to a city just south of Seattle, Washington, which is my husbands hometown. His sister flew in the next day because that weekend their cousin was getting married. It was the first time my mother in law had her 3 kids together in 5 years. And, at the wedding it was the first time all the grandkids had been together in 12 years! It was very exciting having the whole family there and seeing the many generations.

While my SIL was staying with us she made some really yummy blueberry spinach smoothies! Now, I’m not a blueberry eater and would normally turn down anything with blueberries (probably because I never actually had the real thing), but I decided to try it and it was darn good! I’ve made it a few different ways  but my favorite is with frozen blueberries, tender spinach, coconut water, and a little banana. The color can be a little intimidating because if it doesn’t look dark purple it looks more grey. Not exactly appetizing but if you can look past that and just try it you won’t be disappointed. If you don’t care for coconut water you can use other liquids like Vanilla Soy or Vanilla Almond Milk. I prefer the almond milk over the soy. Either are great, though.

This one, here, we added a little of the local honey, too.

Frozen blueberries and tender spinach.

If I’m making it in a regular sized blender I usually use about 1.5 cups of blueberries, 1cup of coconut water (or whatever you want), and a handful of spinach.

The bullet.

Just blend everything until you desired consistency and enjoy! I made this particular recipe at my mom’s house. She has one of those bullet mixers. It’s perfect for making one serving or for making many different recipes. That way you’re not dirtying too many dishes and you don’t have to rinse it out every time. But, if you’re making on large batch then using a blender would be best. Oh and it’s good to have one of those large straws, too. I found a pack of cheap ones at the store. If you really like sweets then drizzle some honey into the smoothie after your pour it into your glass.  You’ll get a nice surprise chunk of honey every now and then!

This is the best picture I could get that shows the true color of the smoothie. What are some of your favorite smoothie recipes??

Blueberry Spinach Smoothie:

1.5 C frozen blueberries

handful or so of tender or baby spinach

1-1.5 C of Coconut water/Vanilla soy milk/vanilla almond milk

Combine ingredients and blend until desired consistancy.

Other options:
bananas

honey

greek yogurt

strawberries

 

Leave a Reply

