Sew, Jenn-O….

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

Paper Pieced Sewing Machine Accessory Bag August 30, 2012

Filed under: Craft,Sewing — Jenn-O @ 11:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

A few weeks before we moved to Washington I decided to try paper piecing.  I had heard about it around a year ago and had to Youtube it to figure out what it was, exactly. It seemed like a lot of fun but I never got around to it. My scrap pile was filling up so I searched through my fabrics and found a few pieces I’d liked. One fabric was from a shirt I bought on sale a while back. I decided to make a pattern I found from Sew, Mama, Sew! The pattern was pretty easy and the tutorial is clear in it’s directions.

My first paper piecing!! Juice Glass Block.

After I had so much fun with this one I started searching for paper piecing patterns. I also wanted to make something for a good friend of mine before I left Italy. While I was there I was making bags and purses out of military uniforms. Melissa ordered a few bags from me then decided she wanted  to start sewing, herself! She started making some awesome bags, too, so I didn’t want to make her one like that. I thought I’d make a small bag for sewing machine accessories or makeup or whatever she wanted. I also wanted to use some clear vinyl I’ve had for a while.

I knew I wanted a to make a paper pieced sewing machine but I just couldn’t find one that was cute enough. There was a picture in my head and just kept searching for it. I finally found  it over at Charise Creates. Let me tell you that she has some beautiful PP patterns! They are so creative and she uses the cutest fabrics. I think I want to make them all!

The block I found was actually a pretty large piece with a few different aspects to it. I just wanted to make the sewing machine.

The block was more difficult than I expected but after putting it down and thinking about it for a while I got it!

It turned out pretty good! I made it out of a bandana and some old scraps.

There are some threads showing and the spool of thread is a little off but I think it adds to the character. 😉

It’s just big enough to fit all my sewing accessories! I added a thick black zipper and used a strip of pink for the seams.

I can’t wait to try the whole pattern! She’s made a few variations of it and she also blogged today about one she just made

You can also check out my friend, Jennie’s, first paper piecing here. Have you ever paper pieced?

 

5 Responses to “Paper Pieced Sewing Machine Accessory Bag”

  1. Jennie Says:

    you’re the reason I tried paper piecing!! and I LOVE it!

  2. Melissa Says:

    I use this bag everyday!

  3. adaisygarden Says:

    Very cute! and functional!


Leave a Reply

