Sew, Jenn-O….

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

I see improvement! -Quilts for Kids November 12, 2012

Filed under: Craft,Sewing — Jenn-O @ 11:29 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I finished my QFK quilt yesterday! I really impressed myself on how well it turned out. Big thanks to Jennie for introducing me to quilt basting spray.  Boy did that help! I’m not sure how the rest of you start off your quilting but what I did the last 3 times was quilt directly down the middle  and then across.  Then I quilted each of those sections in half. Make sense?

After that was done I decided I was going to quilt it a little differently this time. I’ve noticed that I really like A LOT of quilting. So, I decided to do a spiral design on the full blocks and then a stripes on the 4 block squares. The thin border has thin quilting strips. For the outside border I decided to go a little crazy and try my hand hat free motion quilting. With the little planets as my guide, I started sewing little circles.  After a while I got the hang of it and realized it didn’t have to be perfect to look good.

It was pretty time consuming so I broke it up into two days. After I was done I realized that it would have been really cool to follow the galaxy design on the back. Eh, oh well. Now that I know I can do the free motion quilting I’ll have to remember it for next time.

This time I decided to bind the edges of the quilt. I had left over fabric  from the back that was just enough to use around the edges. I tried out a different technique that I found on Pinterest and I really liked it. You can check it out here.

If you haven’t made a quilt for Quilts for Kids, yet, you really should! It’s a fun way to get some practice especially if you’re on a budget, like me. The kit is sent to you precut ( you can see this one here) so all you have to do is sew and a small amount of cutting when you’re piecing it together. The only thing you’ll need to purchase is the batting and pay to send it back.

 

3 Responses to “I see improvement! -Quilts for Kids”

  1. Jennie Says:

    LOVE the quilting you did! one of these days I’m going to give free motion quilting a try 🙂

  2. Looks good. I like the combination of straight line and free motion quilting. Like you, I understand that the first step should be to stabilise the quilt with some lines of sewing down the middle. Haven’t tried spray basting yet. Some people swear by it, others seem to find it gets them in trouble.


Leave a Reply

